## **Midwest Relativity Meeting 2020**

## **First Circular**

The 30<sup>th</sup> annual Midwest Relativity Meeting will be hosted by the Center for Astrophysics and the Department of Physics of the University of Notre Dame from **October 22-24**, Thursday to Saturday.

The Midwest Relativity Meetings aim to bring together researchers from across the Midwest and beyond to discuss **general relativity** and a broad range of topics in gravitational physics, including classical and quantum gravity, numerical relativity, relativistic astrophysics, cosmology, gravitational waves, and experimental gravity.

As in the past, talks will consist of short contributed papers in an informal atmosphere. Each participant may present a talk of  $\sim$ 15 minutes. Professors, post-docs, graduate students, and undergraduates working on relevant topics are encouraged to present their work. The deadline for abstract submission is  $9^{th}$  October. The Blue Apple Prize will be awarded to the best graduate student speaker.

**Venue:** Due to COVID-19 travel restrictions we will not be able to host the meeting at our beautiful campus. Rather, we will be conducting the meeting virtually. Recent experience has indicated that it is difficult to participate in full days of talks in a virtual format. Hence, we will extend the meeting over an additional day, and limit sessions to **no more than 4 hours per day** in the afternoons.

**Registration:** To register and propose a talk, please visit the conference web site at https://sites.google.com/nd.edu/mwrm-2020

Registration Fee: There is no registration fee.

We look forward to seeing you at the 2020 Midwest Relativity meeting.

U. Notre Dame Local Organizing Committee: Grant Mathews, Lan Nguyen, Arielle Phillips, In-Saeng Suh,

Atul Kedia, Miguel Correa, Luca Boccioli, Xilu Wang.

Scientific Organizing Committee:

Grant Mathews – U. Notre Dame

David Garfinkle - Oakland Univ

John Friedman – U. Wisc. Milwaukee

Brett Bolen – Grand Valley State Univ. (last year's host)

Nicholas Yunes – UIUC (next year's host)