#511: Create simulations and automatically purge old version --------------------------+------------------------------------------------- Reporter: hinder | Owner: eschnett Type: enhancement | Status: new Priority: minor | Milestone: Component: SimFactory | Version: Resolution: | Keywords: --------------------------+-------------------------------------------------
Comment (by eschnett):
I've thought about this, and the danger is that one gets use to the "-- purge" option, even if one accidentally mistypes the simulation name, and thus irrevocably deletes two months of progress. I also often find it useful to keep these old, wrong results around for a few iterations of this process, so that I can quickly see whether I'm trying something that I already tried before, or at which iteration I began to introduce a new error.
Personally, I'm appending a numerical counter to simulation names. That does the trick for me, but is obviously less convenient than it should be.
Instead of purging simulations, I suggest to rename the old simulation (after checking that it is inactive etc.) by appending such a numeric index; simulation "bbh" becomes "bbh.0000" etc. Their names should clearly identify them as backups, and one can easily purge them at a later time.
What about --rename as an option for this? Or --replace?